855.755.LEAF (5323)

We're here to help.

OR browse all topics below

Follow

Merging/Deleting People Records

OWNER/ADMIN

The basic process to resolve the duplicate records for a person is to:

  1. Determine the “Master Record”  or in other words the record you want to keep. (Let’s call the others the “Duplicate Records”)
  2. Update the “Master Record” with any information you want to keep from the duplicate records
  3. Delete the duplicate records.

The detailed steps are provided below.

Merging a Child Record

      1. Determine which of the records for the child is most complete. Let’s call this the “master record” and the others the “duplicate records”.
      2. MERGE
        1. Profile: Is there any profile data in the duplicate records that you need to add to the master record? If so, then add it.  Remember to make sure the master record has the correct “Sync ID” (if your organization imports student data via a spreadsheet each year).
        2. Registrations: Does the master record have all the current registrations and historical registrations associated with it.  If not, then add them using the duplicate records as a guide. Remember to adjust the filters to show you ALL registrations past and present.
        3. Relations:  Is the master record associated with all the correct adult relations? This one can be tricky because often when there is a duplicate record for a child there are also duplicate records for his/her parents.  (see below for how to merge adult records). Relations are only defined as child to adult. Relations to other children is inferred by relation to the same adult.
      3. DELETE:  See "Deleting a Person's Record" below.

Merging Adult Record

    1. ACTIVATIONS & EMAIL ADDRESS: If an adult has already activated one or more records, this will impact which one you will use as the “Master Record” with intent to delete the other “duplicate records” after merging appropriately.  Have any of the records for the adult been activated?
      1. Yes, more than one. If there more than one record for the adult has been activated, choose the one with the correct email address as the master record.
      2. Yes, only one.  If only one record has been activated by the adult, then consider this the master record.  [If the email address on this one is incorrect, you will need to contact the adult and ask him/her to log in with the old email address and update his/her profile to reflect the new email address. (You will not have access to make this update.) Thereafter his/her login will be the new email address.]
      3. No, NONE are activated. Choose the most complete record as the master record and update it with the correct email address if necessary.
    2. MERGE: Same process as for merging a child record except note that relations are only child to adult; relation to other adults is inferred by relation to the same child as another adult.
    3. DELETE:  See "Deleting a Person's Record" below.

Deleting a Person's Record

Once you are sure the master record contains all the the desired information and associations, you can delete the duplicate records. If the duplicate records are in your inbox, you can delete the entry.  If however, the duplicate entries were not added via the inbox, or you can’t find the entry in your inbox or archives, another way to delete the record is by deleting all the registrations and relations associated with the record.

1. Click on a person's name to get to his overview page.
2. Go to the "Registration" tab at the bottom of the view, select the registrations, and press the "Delete" button.
3. Go to the "Relations" tab, select the relations, and then press "Delete" button.

The record should disappear from your directory.  Adding the letter “x” in front of the first and last names can help disambiguate the record from the master record but is not necessary to do so.

 

Removing a Person's Access to your directory

A person cannot access your directory if 1) he is no registrations (current or past) showing in the "Registrations" tab of his overview and 2) if none of his relations are registered to any class or group in the directory. Therefore, generally to remove a person's access to your directory, you need to delete all his/her registrations and relations.

  1. Click on a person's name to get to his overview page. 
  2. Go to the "Registration" tab at the bottom of the view, select the registrations, and press the "Delete" button. 
  3. Go to the "Relations" tab, select the relations, and then press "Delete" button.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments